Apr 1, 2010

Japanese architects win 2010 Pritzker Prize

courtesy SANAA
KAZUYO Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, partners in the architectural firm, SANAA, have been chosen as the 2010 Laureates of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The Pritzker Prize, considered the highest honour in architecture, is regarded by many as equivalent to the Nobel Prize. Sejima and Nishizawa are the fourth Pritzker laureates to be chosen from Japan after Kenzo Tange, Fumihiko Maki and Tadao Ando.

OMA wins Québec museum expansion

Copyright @ OMA, click to enlarge
The Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) has won the competition to design a major expansion to the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ). OMA's MNBAQ expansion, which will be linked underground with the museum's three existing buildings, is located on Quebec's main promenade, Grande-Allée, adjacent to St. Dominique Church. The design aims to integrate it with the surrounding park and initiate new links with the city.

Share This Post With Planet Earth Bookmark and Share